Yuck: s/t

Yuck, formed by Daniel Blumberg and Max Bloom formerly from Cajun Dance Party, released on 15th of February their highly anticipated same-titled debut in the US and on 21st of February in UK and peaked #62. They’re signed to Fat Possum/ Mercury Records and gained high popularity by good critics such as Pitchfork or Rolling Stone. I also rarely saw a band’s debut being so mature and well-thought out.

It is awesome 90’s noise rock paired with shoegazy and dreamy riffing. You can hear out bands like Sonic Youth, My Bloody Valentine on Loveless or Pavement but the best description would be Dinosaur Jr.’s little brother. I think they would be a dignified follower if Dinosaur Jr. split up a second time. And the advisely used female vocals is the cherry on the cake. In my opinion it’s perfect to dream and float away at sunny after-noons, laying in the sun and just listen to this.

There is almost no bad song on this, there are just some highlights and I recognized the record gets better to the end. Especially Suck and Stutter give me chills down my neck every time I listen to it. I also like Sunday which is truly perfect for sundays to hang out somewhere and not think of anything. I am glad I discovered this band and keep stoked to see more of these guys in the future. Awesome music.

  • 8.6/10

Download // Buy // Bandcamp

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

