Gotye: Making Mirrors

Gotye, or real name Wouter de Backer is a belgish experimental musician which brought out his new record Making Mirrors on 19th of August on Sample’n’Seconds Records. It was highly acclaimed because of the previously released single Somebody That I Used To Know on which he featured Kimbra, a female singer from New Zealand. The single made platinum in Australia.

With 12 songs the record runs about 45 minutes and I soaked every single one. Oh, how I enjoyed this record. It starts with a short intro-track and thence there are just highlights on this album. I just heard out many great artists from several decades and many different genres combined on Making Mirrors, such as he sounds at parts like Rick Davies from Supertramp or the groove of the track State Of The Art reminded me somehow of Echoes from Pink Floyd. He perfectly uses keyboardparts and produced catchy tunes that get stuck in your head immediately.

There aren’t favourite tracks on this record because I found it awesome at first listen as a whole record. There are many highlights on this, I especially like Somebody That I Used To Know which music video you can see below. I will recommend this to everyone who loves music, it doesn’t matter what kind of. Trust me, you’ll love it!

  • 8.3/10

Download // gotye.com

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Properly stated & with excellent timing

    Reply
  2. Your place is valueble for me. Thanks!…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

